Book Series: Artemis Fowl, Redwall, and Spartan Quest

Hello Friends,

do you have children that read you out of house and home? I have a 14 and 11 year old who read so much that I have been seriously concerned we might run out of books to read. Thanks to the library and friends, who read just as much as they do, this has not happened yet. There is always a sigh of relief when we  find a series that has at least 12 books (which might get them through one summer). I asked my 14 year old to write up short summaries of some of the series he has read. Here are three to get you started. This is for readers who  have already read the well knowns like:

– Narnia

– Lord of the Rings

– Harry Potter

– Little House

– Percy Jackson

– Anne of Green Gables

-Inkheart/ Inkspell/ Inkdeath

Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer. This series includes: Artemis Fowl, The Arctic Incident, The Eternity Code, The Opal Deception, The Lost Colony, The Time Paradox, The Atlantis Complex, The Last Guardian (Coming Out The Summer of 2012)

This series follows the the adventures of the young genius, criminal mastermind, and millionaire Artemis Fowl II. His adventures take him all over the human world and under it in the fairy world, where he both fights and aids the fairies with the help of his loyal bodyguard Butler and other friends he picks up along the way. I recommend these fun, witty, and exiting books for ages nine to ten and up.

Redwall Series (Brian Jaques): Redwall, Mossflower, Mattimeo, Mariel of Redwall, Salamandastron, Martin the Warrior, The Bellmaker, Outcast of Redwall, The Pearls of Lutra, The Long Patrol, Marlfox, The Legend of Luke, Lord Brocktree, The Taggerung, Triss, Loamhedge, Rakkety Tam, High Rhulain, Eulalia!, Doomwyte, The Sable Quean, The Rogue Crew.                                                                                            Following several centuries of (and before) the history of Redwall Abbey, a comfortable premises  in which mice, badgers, hares, moles, and various other creatures live peacefully. But occasionally they are attacked by rats, foxes, and other vermin and the peaceful creatures must rise up and defend their abbey. These epic twenty-two books are filled with adventure, battle, and fun humor. I recommend them for ages 9 and up.

Spartan Quest Series (Michael Ford): The Fire of Ares, Birth of a Warrior, Legacy of Blood

These dark, gory, and violent books are about the life of Lysander, a half-Spartan half-Helot (Spartan slave), who is given a chance to train to become a Spartan warrior. During his training and the battles he fights Lysander loses many of those close to him, and discovers just how hard his life has become in this society where the fittest prevail. This series gives a demonstration of what the life of a Spartan boy would have been like in a story-telling way. I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Book Series: Artemis Fowl, Redwall, and Spartan Quest

One thought on “Book Series: Artemis Fowl, Redwall, and Spartan Quest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s